# Buchanan District Library Regular Board Meeting July 19th, 2018

**Call to Order:** President David Perez called the meeting to order at 6:28pm.

Board members present were David Perez, Mary Lysy, Edwin Brinklow, Debi Brooks, Janet Kuhn and Molly Thornton. Dennis Iler was absent. Director Barbara Gordon represented the Library Staff.

**Adoption of Agenda:** Motion made by Molly Thornton to address the issues of the agenda in a different order. Seconded by Janet Kuhn. Motion carried.

### Recognition of Visitors: None

• Alice Kring, Notary, to administer Trustee Oaths: Present Trustees took oath and signed official document.

## Community Concerns: None

## **Routine Business:**

- **Correspondence:** The library received a thank you note from the Scarecrow Ladies for our annual support.
- **Minutes and Calendar:** Motion made by Janet Kuhn to accept the June minutes as written. Seconded by Debi Brooks. Motion carried.
- **Financial Reports and Approval of Expenditures:** Motion made by Edwin Brinklow to accept report. Seconded by Mary Lysy. Motion carried.

### **Committee Reports:**

- Public Relations & Fundraising: No meeting
- Library Policy: No meeting.
- **Personnel:** No meeting.
- **Building:** No meeting.
- Budget & Finance: No meeting.
- Technology: No meeting.

Director's Report: See report.

### Unfinished Business:

**Construction bids:** Informal agreement to continue with decision made at July 12<sup>th</sup> special meeting, awarding bid to Pearson Construction.

### New Business:

- **Executive and committee appointments:** David Perez will continue as President, Janet Kuhn will remain Vice President, Molly Thornton will continue as Secretary, and Mary Lysy will begin as Treasurer.
- Committees: David Perez presented the following slate for new committee appointees: BUILDING: Molly Thornton(Chair), Dennis Iler, Craig Sumerix, and Edwin Brinklow. FINANCE: Janet Kuhn (Chair), Mary Lysy, and David Perez. FUNDRAISING/PUBLIC RELATIONS: Mary Lysy(Chair), Edwin Brinklow, David Perez, Debi Brooks and Sarah Gault PERSONNEL: Debi Brooks(Chair), Janet Kuhn and David Perez. POLICY: Mary Lysy(Chair), Dennis Iler, and Molly Thornton. TECHNOLOGY: Edwin Brinklow(Chair), Dennis Iler, Molly Thornton, and Pamela Salo.

Motion made by Janet Kuhn to accept appointees. Seconded by Edwin Brinklow. Motion carried.

**Questions and Comments from Board Members:** Janet Kuhn suggested training materials for new board member Edwin Brinklow. Barbara will provide those materials.

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 7:23pm

Next meeting: August 16th at 6:30pm.